AB De Villiers Wins 5 Awards : Once again South Africa Cricketer of the Year

Johannesburg: Abraham Benjamin “AB” de Villiers, the only player after Sachin Tendulkar to be regarded as the best batsman in the world cricket and one of the greatest of all time. At present, De Villiers is ranked second in the ICC Test and first in the ODI batsmen rankings.

AB De Villiers Equals Makhaya Ntini:

Reportedly, AB de Villiers was once again named South Africa’s Cricketer of the Year for the straight successive year at Cricket South Africa’s annual awards, hosted by Cricket South Africa (CSA) in Johannesburg. One has to agree the truth that De Villiers is a true batting genius and simply beyond the reach of most with the modest techniques he implies at the centre.

Ab De villiers cricketer of the year SA

Ab De villiers cricketer of the year South Africa

AB de Villiers has won as many as five awards in that event. Alongside being voted as the Cricketer of the Year for the straight successive season, De Villiers also bagged four other awards out of total nine major. The other awards are ODI Cricketer of the Year, Player’s Player of the Year, Fans Player of the Year and also got awarded with ‘So Good Award’ for scoring the fastest century in the Cricket history against test playing nation West Indies in the last year.

AB De Villiers is the only player to receive two consecutive awards after former pace-man Makhaya Ntini, who had bagged the award in the years 2005 and 2006. The other players who have been awarded the South African cricketer of the year twice are Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011) and Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013).

Other award winning Candidates at Gala Function:

Morne van Wyk – T20 Cricketer of the Year.
Shabnim Ismail – Women’s Cricketer of the Year.
Dale Steyn – RAM Delivery of the Year.
Stephen Cook – Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season.
Robin Peterson – Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season.
Kieron Pollard – Ram Slammer of the Season.
Geoffrey Toyana – Coach of the Year.
Titans – CSA Fair Play Award.
Dane Paterson – SACA Most Valuable Player Award.
Johan Cloete – Umpire of the Year.
Rudolph du Preez – Groundsman of the Year (SuperSport Park)

CSA’s chief executive officer, Haroon Lorgat expressed his delight over the progress that South Africa and de Villiers had made in the previous year. “Past year has been yet another great year at the office with some wonderful achievements by both individuals and the team,” he said. “AB is just so special and surely he must be the best all-round cricketer in the world”, he added. Lorgat not only congratulated the award winners but also the other cricketers who selflessly contributed to the success of the South Africa as a Cricketing nation.

On a lighter note, De Villiers still holds the milestone for most consecutive Test innings without getting out for a duck (78). He even holds the record for the fastest 50(16 balls), 100(31 balls) and 150(64 balls) in One Day International Cricket.