Every day, thousands of drivers pass through the state of New Jersey. Thankfully, these traffic laws exist to help keep everyone safe. However, sometimes lapses in judgment lead to traffic violations and penalties. Traffic violations can result in fines, points on your license, jail time, and a host of other consequences. They can affect your driving record, insurance rates, and even your ability to apply for certain jobs.
New Jersey traffic laws
When driving in New Jersey, it is crucial to be aware of the many traffic laws and fines. The state’s roadways are notoriously crowded and change frequently due to construction. Passing other vehicles is only allowed under specific circumstances, and you’ll need to obey the speed limit to do so. The state has broken marker lines to indicate where passing lanes are. Otherwise, you’ll be guilty of a four-point offense.
Drivers who accumulate excess points, repeat traffic violations, or serious violations are subject to point surcharges imposed by the Motor Vehicle Commission. A first-time DUI conviction, for example, can cost a driver a minimum of $500 and an additional $1,000 per year for up to three years. Other violations, such as speeding, can also be assessed surcharges, which can add up to hundreds of dollars in additional fines and costs. If you are facing such surcharges, it is imperative to consult an attorney immediately.
Fines for violations
In addition to the usual fines, some traffic violations will have extra charges. These extra charges are generally assessed for serious traffic violations or when the violator has committed too many of them. Some of these extra charges are one-time fees, while others require annual payments. In any case, it is important to understand what the fine amounts will be and how they will be paid. An experienced traffic lawyer will explain your rights and the best strategies to avoid a conviction.
Violations based on injury or death
Drivers in New Jersey face hefty fines for violating the law if they flee the scene of an accident. There is no requirement that the individual cause “serious bodily injury or property damage.” A driver may be prosecuted for causing minor dents or scratches to their own vehicle, municipal property, or public signs. However, the statute states that drivers must not leave the scene of an accident if it results in a death or injury.
- You can Pay California Speeding Ticket Online
- MyBKExperience Offers Free Whopper: Exclusive for Burger King Customers
- KrogerFeedback vs. Lowe’s Survey: Which is Better?
- DunkinRunsonYou Survey: Quick & Easy Steps to Complete
- Pay FL Clerks and PayFLClerk Explained: Essential Facts
Driving while intoxicated
The penalty for Driving while intoxicated in New Jersey is stiff and often includes jail time. In addition to a maximum 30-day jail sentence, the state also imposes an ignition interlock device, which requires the driver to have a BAC below 0.10% in order to drive. The penalty can also include a $250 to $400 fine and alcohol education. First-time offenders are also banned from driving for four to six months and must install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for fifteen months.
If you’ve been pulled over for speeding in New Jersey, you may have a couple of options for a defense. Speeding in New Jersey is a serious offense, and convictions can result in a suspended license and high car insurance rates. But, don’t let the fine scare you – there are ways to reduce or even dismiss your fine. If you’re not aware of your legal rights, it’s important to contact an attorney right away.
Cell phone use
Distracted driving is a serious problem in the United States and many studies have shown that cell phone use is a major contributing factor. New Jersey law prohibits drivers from using handheld cell phones to make, receive, or send phone calls while driving. However, drivers may use hands-free devices if they have a need to talk to someone on the phone. New Jersey has strict laws against distracted driving, so it’s important to follow them when you’re behind the wheel.
Listed below are the parking rules that must be observed in New Jersey. As a general rule, you should leave no more than six inches between your car and the curb, except in certain cases when you have a special permit to park in a parking spot next to a white curb. Parking during posted hours is often to facilitate street sweeping and will earn you a parking ticket. Residential time limits are posted on streets to protect private property owners and residents. If you do not have a permit, you must stay on the street for the posted time period, otherwise you will be fined and possibly your car towed.